“One choice can destroy you.”

Less than a week ago, I started reading Insurgent, the second book in the Divergent Series written by Veronica Roth. I was very excited to start the successor of Divergent considering I really enjoyed the first book in this series and was left with a lot of questions at the end.

11735983

What this book is about?

We continue the story of Beatrice – Tris –  Prior, who lives in a world based on factions who are now at the break of war all because of a great secret that’s being kept. All the while trying to discover that secret and put an end to this war, Tris is confronted with grief and forgiveness, fear and bravery, loyalty and love. Her choices are no longer defining who she is, her choices can now destroy her.

What I thought of the book? (Spoiler free!)

To be honest, generally speaking, I’m a bit disappointed in Insurgent. I felt like the entire thing was just a little too drawn out and this could easily have fit into less pages. I know this is – probably – all leading to some big ending – which I hope to get in the last book of the series; Allegiant – but for now, I feel like Insurgent lacked something which I can’t exactly pinpoint.

What I did really like, was that we got to know the characters more in this one. You learn more about the mind and personality of the main characters. On top of it all, there are quite a few surprises, both in those characters as in the events. In those little moments, I really wanted to keep reading, and understand what was going on. Also, the general question of what’s going on and what the evil Jeanine Matthews is planning, is something that made me want to keep reading, but because it was all a little vague it made it possible for me to put the book down after a certain chapter without feeling the pull to pick up again to finish another chapter. And that’s what’s left me disappointed, I guess. I like a book that I can’t put down because I need to know the end right that very moment.

Another thing that I’d like to mention is how much I love how the author built up the relationship between Tris and Four. It’s realistic – no love sick puppy stuff here – and still so beautiful. Although I must say that the romantic soul in me was often yelling at them to just stop bickering.

But once again – just like in Divergent -, the ending is leaving you with the feeling of wanting more. There is another giant cliffhanger that will lead to the next book and even though I am a bit disappointed in the book I’ve just finished, I have already picked up Allegiant to start reading it. I really hope that there will be an amazing climax and that I will be able to look at this series as a whole in a positive way because I still love the storyline.

Until next time,

With love, Ellen

Leave a comment